Skip to content

:: birds, bees and butterflies ::

April 27, 2012

It has been a busy B week here.  It seems that all things tend to require attention during the same few days!  It is exciting and intimidating at the same time to have so many ventures on the go – I am hoping that they all come to fruition the way I have envisioned!


Birds

A wonderful co-worker of mine has lent me an incubator for my Resource room.  Currently we have several chicken eggs and a single duck egg stored inside.  It will serve as a platform for several lessons with students in which we will focus on research, informational writing, creative writing and math skills.  I honestly do not know who is more excited about the prospect of having chicks in the classroom – me or the students! (And for those of you wondering, these little darlings will be going back to the farm once they are hatched ;))


Bees

Ava and I have been studying mason bees lately. I was able to order a bee house from Veseys (the one you see in my header).  The aim of the bee house is to attract the Masons to come in and assist in pollination of plants.   They are not an aggressive bee at all and enjoy cooler weather, which makes them great for Saskatchewan!  We haven’t decided on an exact spot to set our bee house yet, but as we will be ordering several apple trees for the yard this year, I think it will be in that vicinity.


Butteflies

Well, this one isn’t technically a ‘b’ yet.  We received our caterpillars from Butterflies Beautiful earlier this week and have been eagerly studying them in our spare  moments.  The Painted Lady butterfly life cycle has also been a topic of investigation for Ava and myself.  One of the aspects that I am loving about having Ava home in the afternoons is that I get to learn so much along with her – it really is a joint venture!

For many, learning is a spiral, where important themes are visited again and again, each time at a deeper, more penetrating level.–Jerold W. Aps

(from The Quotable Teacher, comp. by Howe)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

