Skip to content

:: knitty gritty ::

April 12, 2012

Sometimes things don’t go quite as planned.

Such was the case with this cardigan.  Initially, I had anticipated knitting a Rocky Coast cardigan (design by Hannah Fettig) but goofed on the cable pattern so ended up with a Rocky Coast variation.  Not quite what I had in mind, but liveable.  Next, I decided to lengthen the body and shorten the sleeves to make the fit a little more accurate for me.  The last real change came at the end when I had to cut short the final ribbing around the front and the collar because I ran out of yarn!  I purchased more than enough, but it turned out that even though I cut the sleeves short to make up for the extra length around the body, it just wasn’t enough. I lost about 4 rows around the collar which makes it a little narrower around the front than I would have liked.

Anyway, not one of my best pieces, but definitely learned a few lessons while knitting it! I consider it the ‘practice’  edition. Which is okay, since I already ordered some Madelinetosh Baltic to create another one for the winter….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

