Skip to content

:: daddy daughter time ::

January 14, 2012

Ava and Michael have this fantastic bond.  I have to admit, I’ve been a little jealous over it through the years.  There is a way in which they connect with each other through humour, interests and activities that is sublime.  Over the years they have laughed over play dough, collaborated through Zelda and lured in “the biggest fish ever!” while sitting in the boat on a sunny lake.

The latest father-daughter endeavour includes cooking.  Michael really is the better baker in the house. I’ll admit it.  He has a creative flair and attention to detail that I do not.  If it’s someone’s birthday, I’ll swing by Dairy Queen on my way home.  If it’s his job to create the cake he will turn it into a decadent, multi-layered masterpiece such as this lemon-strawberry delicacy he had ready for me when I came home from teaching aerobics last spring.

When Ava got her new Chocolate cookbook, she didn’t even bother to check out the recipes with me. Nope, she cruised right by me and settled up at the table with her dad.  Together they pored over the recipes and decided to make Chocolate Mousse the next day. Michael gathered the ingredients and set Ava to work measuring, mixing and pouring.  Finally came the most exciting part: shaving the chocolate for garnish.

After a brief lesson in the fine art of chocolate shaving, Ava was ready to do the dirty work herself!

I feel so privileged to be part of this family, watching the different relationships blossom within it.

Growing, flourishing, loving, nurturing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

