Skip to content

:: small things ::

December 26, 2011

Late last night (well late for me. It was like 10 o’clock or something) I finished the Small Things Romper I had been working on for Violet.  I had decided to make it for her as an overcoat of sorts to wear in the car as her winter coat is too fluffy to be buckled properly into her car seat with.  As I still want her to be snug and warm in the back, I figured that this little suit would be the perfect compromise.

And as often happens while I’m knitting, my mind wandered.  I started thinking of the irony of knitting a Small Things romper for my little Miss who is not really very small anymore.  My little girl who will give us two word sentences and scales the back of her chair to buckle herself into her seat. The little monkey who will skillfully navigate chairs or other objects and deftly makes her way up to her new favourite perch.  My princess who cries out, “Shooooooooooooooes!” as we are walking down the aisle at the store and sees a gloriously glittery red pair that she just.must.have.

My little girl with the goofy grins, who is so big in her Small Things romper.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2011 7:26 pm

    That romper is adorable!!! I sooo wish I could knit!!!!

  2. mel permalink
    February 28, 2012 1:26 pm

    She is so stinkin’ cute!!!! And the romper is amazing!

Leave a Reply

