Skip to content

:: quick Christmas gift ::

December 23, 2011

I am so incredibly disorganized for Christmas this year. Really, really, really.  Last minute everything, including gifts to my best friend, Theresa’s, kids. Generally we are both pretty awesome and send each other a collection of handmade greatness (see last year’s awesomeness for proof). But this year, with the hustle and bustle of her new business setting the creativity standard pretty high and my complete and utter ‘hold it all together until finals are over and Christmas break is here(!) attitude, I just kinda didn’t get around to making gifts. I wanted to, really, I did, but just could not find the energy to add it into the rotation.

 

So, I settled for supremely quick and easy. That’s not tacky, right?  I went through the kids old crayon bag which had been collecting crayon remnants since Ava left kindergarten over three years ago and started peeling wrappers.  Honestly, the peeling was the longest part of the whole thing.

 

Once I had crayons peeled, I got a pot of water boiling and put a canning jar with same hued crayons inside.  The link I had found suggested using a tin can, which really is a good idea because the wax is pretty messy and I had to throw out my jars. But again, foresight was not with me and I decided last minute I needed to make this craft and thus had no tin cans that were empty. I did briefly consider opening a can, finding a container and lid, putting the contents of the can into the container and into the fridge, washing the can and then proceeding, but it seemed like a lot of work….

Back to my story – the melting.

I kept the pot at about 4 or 5 and stirred the wax with a popsicle stick (also disposable! I thought ahead for that!) It took about 5 minutes to melt down to a smooth enough texture to pour.

About the pouring.  Um….it’s messy.  And apparently Michael is much more aware of my pouring abilities than I am because he came into the kitchen just as I was about to fill a mold and proclaimed, “Whoa, whoa, whoa now.  Get out the wax paper. And a towel. Put them underneath.  You will make a mess!” Me? Make a mess? Really now.  Isn’t that part of the fun of doing these things?

So I poured and I spilled, and I spilled and I poured.  I made a mess. I cleaned it up. I melted more crayons and I poured them in the cute little fishie molds.  The whole process took about an hour and I used four different colours.

I’m pretty happy with the end result 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

