Skip to content

:: wip wednesday ::

November 29, 2011

Finally I have another project in progress that I can share.  I have been knitting like a mad-woman over the past few days. I haven’t meant to, it just kind of happened.  I wound up 408 yards of gorgeous yarn on Saturday and just started knitting.  I chose the Summer Flies Shawl as the pattern and have been working my way through it.  Initially I would reward myself for writing or researching for my term paper by knitting a few rows here and there. I’ve set aside my current novel, Dance with Dragons in favour of knitting.  Really, everything has hit pause until I finish this project.  It’s been a long time since a piece of knitting has captivated me like this.

I’m not sure what it is about this project or the yarn, but I am feeling a real connection with it.  The yarn is exciting to knit with, the colorway is constantly changing. Not only that, but the texture is absolutely amazing.  It is soft, squishy and silky all in one!

I am hoping to have it finished by the weekend. There are seven more rows to go, including the Picot bind off. Unfortunately, each of those rows is nearly 400 stitches! It took me over 20 minutes to do one row!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

