Skip to content

:: saturday night sewing soundtrack ::

October 2, 2011

It’s been too long since I’ve kept my hands and my mind busy with a project.  After a long few days while Michael was gone fishing, a busy week of work and kids, looming deadlines and atrocious assignments I pledged two hours of sewing to myself this Saturday.

Just me, some wine and a Genius mix from iTunes (hopefully I can sew a straight line after my wine! ;))

Sometimes just these little breaks are what I need to recharge.  I had been avoiding eye contact with the fabric hanging in my closet.  Washed, dried, ironed and ready to be made into something special.  It mocked me.  Every time I looked at it, it was as though a little voice was nattering, “No time! No time!” I decided it was about time to make time and settle in rather than feel guilt every time I looked at that gorgeous assortment of textiles.

And you know what? It felt good! The floor was still dirty, the dishes were in the sink, my assignment sat incomplete but my heart was full and my mind was smiling.

It was a good thing.

So, in the spirit of good things and taking some time to unwind I’ve posted my Saturday Night Sewing soundtrack.  This sewing interlude required some gentle music.  Generally I’m a heavy metal sewing ‘gal! Genius on iTunes really is a cool thing; I popped in a song that I had a hankering for and it gave me a whole playlist of similar music.  Feel free to share some of your favourite sewing songs in the comments 🙂

Without further ado:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

