Skip to content

:: these days ::

September 25, 2011

these days

have been busy.

busy with work.

busy with kids.

busy trying to reclaim some semblance of sanity in a topsy turvy, fluctuating existence.

busy. busy. busy.

and then my husband comes home with 45 pounds of carrots.

yup.

45.

fourty-five.

pounds.

of.

carrots.

I made him weigh the bag.

and so now, not only am I busy; I am pickled.

not tickled. Pickled.

because I love my husband (who manages to bring me a burlap bag of carrots the day before he leaves fishing for a week to pickle ‘in my spare time’).

spicy pickled carrots pickled.

15 litres of them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and I’m grated.

grated nerves. grated brain.

grated carrots.

15 cups of grated carrots for cakes, muffins, meatloaf and sauces.

I’ve been debating buying a pressure canner.

you know, so that I can can more cool stuff for when the zombie apocalypse  (or whatever apocalypse I happen to be preoccupied with at the time) happens.

and so that the next time Michael gifts me with 45 pounds (45 pounds!!) of carrots it doesn’t take quite so long to finish pickling them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Louise permalink
    September 25, 2011 2:29 am

    I hope you’ve checked to make sure all your digits are still intact!! I can’t even imagine 45lbs of carrots. Holy moly!

    • September 25, 2011 1:31 pm

      All is well with my digits! My mom came by yesterday and helped me finish them off. It was much lighter work with two of us at it!

Leave a Reply

