Skip to content

:: a summer of quilts ::

September 4, 2011

As much as I love knitting I find that it disagrees with me during the summer months.  For me, knitting is a fall and winter past time.  It helps to pass those chilly days, months and winter season.  Summertime beckons for something a little more lightweight and this summer I decided to tackle quilting.

I have been having a torrid affair with textiles lately.  I love the vibrancy, the pattern…the potential to be something completely new and whole.  I also love how much faster working with fabric is than working with yarn.  In a matter of days I can have a finished product where with knitting I manage to fit in a few stitches here and a couple of rows there and, as I learned with the linen stitch longies, I need to factor in growth spurts during my knitting time!

This handful of quilted projects were recently finished , just in time for wrapping up in anticipation of the cooler fall weather.

Disappearing 9 patch using a custom bundle from Fabricworm

My strip quilt that I started eons ago, finally finished!

Hopefully the poor thing is up to the challenge of living on the kids’ bed!

And Ava’s jumbo Disappearing 9 patch.  I am proud to say I did everything on this quilt myself; quilting and binding included!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2011 9:15 pm

    Let’s see a bigger picture of Ava’s quilt!

  2. September 4, 2011 11:04 pm

    Seriously, Jessica, we should live closer to eachother! We could knit all winter and sew all summer together.

    • September 5, 2011 4:12 pm

      That would be perfect! I’ll move your way, okay? Sounds like more fun than my neck of the woods.

Leave a Reply

