Skip to content

:: the story of the ugly sock ::

August 10, 2011

Once upon a time, there was a wife who wanted to make a wonderful, handmade gift for her husband’s upcoming birthday.  The husband had reminded the wife, not so unceremoniously, that he had yet to receive one of her glorious hand knit projects. The wife pondered as to what her husband would really love.  She thought, she observed, she folded laundry.  As she folded she noticed that many of his socks had horrible holes worn through the big toe.  She decided then and there while folding socks at the kitchen table that her husband should have the most glorious pair of hand knit socks for his birthday.

The doting wife searched high and low for the perfect sock pattern.  She checked ravelry and discovered a wonderful vintage American Red Cross “Man’s Sock” pattern.  What could be more fitting for her Man than a “Man’s Sock”? Nothing.  And so the knitting of the Man’s Sock for a man commenced.

She knit and she purled and she knit and she purled and she knit and she purled (the instructions required several inches of ribbing) and after that she just knit and knit and knit for several inches further.  And then….came the heel turn.  And that seems to be where it all went so horribly wrong. Never mind the fact that she then ran out of yarn.  Apparently the American Red Cross did not factor in her husband’s size 13 feet into their pattern when they specified 40 grams.  She even knit with 50 grams and ran out.

Okay, I admit it.  I am the amazing wife.  And Michael is the Man for the Man’s Sock. It is a disaster of epic sock proportions.  It is so horrible it is funny.  The sheer idiocy of this lumpy, dumpy sock and Michael’s toes hanging out of it is too much for even me.  In fact, I don’t think I’ve made a piece of knitting quite like this since my first attempt at knitting a hat in the round nearly two and a half years ago.

That, my friends, is what happens when you twist a stitch in the round without realizing what you have done is twist a stitch.  I had to cut the thing off my needles at that point.  Lesson learned.  And lesson learned with the socks, too.  What is the lesson, you may ask?  Well, I guess it would have to be practice makes perfect.  Because, in case you haven’t noticed, I can make pretty good hats now.  Even though they have a few wrong stitches in them, that’s how you learn to do the right ones.  If you don’t learn from it, that’s when it becomes a mistake.  If you do learn from it, it becomes a lesson.  Since I’m teaching myself to do all this fancy knitting it only seems appropriate that I take a lesson once in a while.  And the second lesson learned through this is my husband is pretty awesome because not only did he not laugh when I showed him my first attempt at a birthday sock he thought it wasn’t that bad at all and would actually wear it (you know, if I had enough yarn to finish it).  So, because of that little moral boost I’m going to get back on the proverbial knitting horse and give these socks another go.  I have until September 18th to make a fabulous pair of Man Socks for a fabulous man.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 4:30 am

    Practice will make you a better knitter………..but hand made is not going to be perfect, in my opinion. Hand made is great, because it isn’t made on a machine, but by human hands.

    I tell my knitting students………..there are no mistakes, just “design features”. Works almost every time. Not sure about the twisted stitches on the hat however. Perhaps, without decreases, it could have been a cowl/neck warmer, with a twist? 🙂

    Keep knitting!
    Sue
    Stitchknit

    • August 10, 2011 5:34 pm

      You are absolutely right. I don’t think a single item I have made is without ‘design features’. Thanks for your comment!

  2. Mike permalink
    August 10, 2011 2:12 pm

    Yay!

Trackbacks

  1. :: everything I learned this year I learned while knitting :: « ::learning to love the little moments::

Leave a Reply

