Skip to content

:: berry pickin’ blitz ::

August 4, 2011

The past few days have been a blur of travel, sun, swimming and picking.  The kids and I made the trip to Cudworth to see Grandma and Grandpa (and so I could deviously drop them off with G&G until next Saturday (!) while they take swimming lessons) on Monday and have been incredibly busy since arriving.

The hot spot of the mini-break so far has been Grandma’s garden full of goodies.  Primarily, the raspberry patch has heralded the most fans.  We have spent quite a bit of time plucking the tasty morsels from the bushes and hoarding our bowls to ourselves.  Mom has graciously offered me about 15 cups to take home to turn into jam.

While visiting my Grandma this evening we got talking about gardening and I mentioned that I’m not really that good at it and the only thing I ever got to grow at the old house was our fabulous raspberries.  In fact, they were prolific and multiplied at an incredible rate.  I had never thought much about their origin, I had just known that they were amazing, plump, deliciously dark and wonderfully juicy.  As I told my grandma that we had transplanted some more canes from mom at the new house she smiled and declared they were ‘her’ raspberries.  When my mom had started her raspberry patch several years ago she had taken canes from my Grandma’s garden in Eastend.  How incredible that the raspberries my kids love so much share heritage with the same raspberries I grew up eating.

In addition to the mounds of raspberries I have accumulated in a short 72 hours, I am also the proud owner of several baskets of tart strawberries.  Today we went to the Strawberry Ranch outside of Saskatoon and managed to fill 6 baskets in under 20 minutes!

I am going to be busy prepping and preserving the next few days.  Possibly in my deliciously silent kitchen as my children discuss endless details of life and living with my mother instead of me.  🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. Louise permalink
    August 4, 2011 12:40 pm

    Those pictures are making my mouth water!!
    And I have so many memories of homemade jams from my gran and gramps! Awesome that your children are getting to share in yours!

Leave a Reply

