Skip to content

:: the garden is growing! ::

July 24, 2011

Well, my Swiss Chard is growing at least.  The jury is still out on the pumpkins and watermelons, the Brussels have no sprouts and my ten tomato plants have yielded 4 tiny tomatoes so far…but I have Swiss Chard!

post-picking, pre-washing

It took me awhile to develop a taste for swiss chard, but I found a few recipes that have helped me find the love:

Sweet and Spicy Swiss Chard is my go-to Chard recipe.  I usually make it with a HUGE chunk of Ginger since Michael and I like our veggies a little more on the spicy side.  I also sprinkle it with red pepper flakes at the end of cooking.

Our second favourite Swiss Chard recipe is Swiss Chard with Onions and Bacon.  Honestly, everything is better with bacon; even green, leafy veggies.

As my reputation is well-proven for destroying plants more than nurturing them into a bountiful paradise of plenty, I’m hoping that I can take a little hope in this quote:

My green thumb came only as a result of the mistakes I made while learning to see things from the plant’s point of view.

  ~H. Fred Dale

Maybe not everyone is born with a green thumb. Perhaps it can develop (albeit slowly in my case….) from a dirty brown to a vibrant green.  My grandma was an amazing gardener, keeping up with it until into her nineties.  Grandma’s garden was a place we spent many summers and many memories were formed there, from running through the raspberry ‘maze’ that was well over our heads to heading out with grandpa to dig up some fishing bait.  The harvests were always abundant with much of what was picked, dug up and plucked canned and preserved.  I hope that I can be half the gardener that she was, and to give my kids as many memories in our garden as I had growing up in hers.  With the strength of generations of green thumbs behind me, nudging me out into the backyard despite my insistence that I didn’t want to ‘get dirty’ perhaps my gardening prowess can blossom to meet my intent to nourish my family with wholesome food and memories.

Leave a Reply

