Skip to content

:: time out ::

July 20, 2011

I was put into time out today.  Not on purpose, mind you.  I didn’t really do anything to earn a time out.  It just sort of happened.  The power went out last night around 10:30 and didn’t come back on until 4:30 pm the next day.

Not able to partake in my usual activities due to the constraints of lost power and water I was forced into submission:

:: time-out from Facebook and all the other wonderful (but horrible wastes of time) internet treasures I scour during the day.

:: time out from laundry

:: time out from dishes and washing floors

:: time out from online classes, since I had no computer to be chained to

:: time out from the day-to-day doldrums

To begin my day in time out I woke up to no coffee.  That was not a good start.  But then I picked up my knitting and stitched quietly waiting for the rest of the kids to come lumbering out of their beds.

When 10:30am rolled around with still no power we decided to do something we have never done as a family before.  We took the boat out.  All 5 of us on the boat in the slightly windy, supremely sunny morning.  We saw two bear cubs on the way there, and a couple of fish jumping straight out of the water while we were on the lake.  It was serene and completely wonderful.  I’m a little embarrassed to admit that within my five years of living here this was my first time out on the lake.  It had just never fit in to the schedule, you know?  But today, there was no schedule. There was nothing but open water and open time.

I half-expected the power to be back on by 1 when we returned home, but it wasn’t.  We made a quick lunch and proceeded to do….nothing!  Violet napped, I knit and the kids played a video game with Michael until the battery died.  I went out to the hammock to knit a bit in the sun and, remarkably for me, I fell asleep! I can never nap during the day.  When I woke up to a cool breeze I decided to move my nap inside and slept for another solid hour.  It really was what I needed.

The whole day was what I needed.  No pressure from myself to get an immeasurable list complete before sun down.  No constraints of time.  The feeling of, “I really should be doing….” disappeared because really, there wasn’t a whole lot I could be doing without power and water.  The day forced me to slow down and rest, which was what I needed to rejuvenate.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cher permalink
    July 20, 2011 3:24 am

    loved this post. wishing for my own ‘time out’ day now. You deserve all the quiet, rest and relaxation that you experienced today, super women!

  2. July 20, 2011 12:49 pm

    I hope you get one too, Cher (but perhaps with running water and electricity).

  3. Donna Ettinger permalink
    September 4, 2011 2:21 pm

    Your concept of open water and open time is one to remember.

    Have just discovered your site and am quite enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

