Skip to content

:: some things I’m making ::

June 22, 2011

Ah, Wednesday.  Time for a little work in progress update.  I feel recently that everything about my life has been in-progress: this house, my classes, my personal growth as a wife, mother, woman, the kids’ transformations from little tiny babies into (dare I say it?) big kids.  Everything is transforming and progressing into something new, larger and infinitely more abundant….  not to mention my knitting haha!

The bathroom is still, well….

We’ve got someone looking at it ready to swoop in and make it complete.  Hopefully it will be finished before the end of summer….hopefully, because I have something snazzy to put into it!

Project 2: Vanity Mirror

This little beauty was originally hanging in the master bathroom.  As I’m a sucker for all things shabby chic I figured I could spruce it up a little bit to look just worn enough for the bathroom.  It’s still in the process of priming, but will be a nice glossy white when finished.

Project 3: Knittin’ the Dog

 I’m working on a quick shawl for my friend, Theresa, made from the yarn of her Alaskan Malamute.  Initially I had some trouble with the yarn separating as I knit it, but I’ve found a way to bind it in with some thicker wool creating a chunkier effect than what the pattern indicates.  It’s going to be warm, that’s for sure!

Last but not least…

I’ve got my first quilt on the go.  It’s nothing to write home about, but a good attempt at a first quilt, if I do say so myself.  I have to choose some fabric for the backing yet and then we’ll have a new summer weight blanket (as I am already dying under the down duvet we still have on from winter!)

‘Happiness lies in the joy of achievement and the thrill of creative effort.’
~Franklin Roosevelt

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashlea permalink
    June 22, 2011 2:20 pm

    Wow, awesome WIP’s! Love the quilt! I am just starting to learn how to sew and have had to no interest in making a quilt, but that lightweight quilt really makes me want to make one. That’s years away, though! I’m afraid to even make a pillowcase dress right now! lol

  2. June 22, 2011 6:03 pm

    Thanks, Ashlea! I haven’t sewn the strips together yet, I was just laying them out to see how I liked them. I am going to take it to a quilting shop to have it finished because it is just so freaking massive!

Leave a Reply

