Skip to content

:: crafty pay it forward ::

June 6, 2011

I lost my ‘making’ mojo.

It seemed to happen about three weeks ago while I was working on a sweater for Violet and I snapped my knitting needle.  I was already frustrated as the sweater was not going according to plan and then, the icing on the cake, the only set of needles I had in that size were broken.

Well, it appears that breaking a knitting needle is akin to breaking a mirror in the crafting world – an endless streak of bad luck.

Every project that I undertook for the next three weeks wound up incomplete, full of mistakes or destroyed by forces other than myself.    I felt frustrated.  What had happened?  Why would simple projects suddenly become the Everest of knitting?  I shoved all my supplies away determined not to touch them as they were doing nothing but shaking my confidence in my abilities.  I boycotted Ravelry.  I did not enter the do-it-yourself forum of my favourite website.

And then I decided that maybe the heart of the matter was that I was missing the heart of the making.

Rather than creating these project because I wanted to and loved the process I was feeling obliged to churn out another random piece of work.

So I pushed through my frustrations and began to make gifts for others because I knew how much they would enjoy them.  And you know what, they did!  When I received notice that my gifts had reached their destinations I could feel the little bits of frustration melting away.  This is why I make things.  Not to add it to my checklist of accomplishments, but because it makes people feel good to know that I have invested my time and energy to create something for them, personally.

With the sense of obligation replaced by one of excitement, I began to knit for myself again….

And once again knitting becomes a metaphor for the rest of my life.  Stitch by stitch, minute by minute.  Find the underlying joy and passion to truly appreciate what you have.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Theresa permalink
    June 6, 2011 2:09 pm

    Beautiful post. This makes me love you even more.

Trackbacks

  1. :: everything I learned this year I learned while knitting :: « ::learning to love the little moments::

Leave a Reply

