Skip to content

:: reading challenge update #4 ::

February 18, 2011

When I got around to the library this week I found out I had a million books waiting for me.  No lie.  That’s what happens when the library is closed for three weeks to move buildings, but the books I order keep coming in.  Somewhere in that pile lies this week’s book review: Bark,George.

Bark,George was on the list of the top 100 picture books, so I had ordered it based on that recommendation.  To be honest, based on the cover I thought it was going to be simplistic and uninteresting.  Well, now I have learned not to judge a book by its cover. 😉

The story revolves around a mother dog trying to teach her puppy to bark. For the life of him, George just cannot produce that canine sound. He channels his inner cat, pig,cow and duck, much to the chagrin of his mother.

I mean look at this; who, as a mother,cannot relate to this feeling of utter frustration? (although it looks extra charming in doggy form):

After George's third failed attempt at barking. I've been there, doggy.

Isaac’s retelling of Bark George:

“He said ‘quack’, then he said ‘woof’, then he said ‘duck’, then ‘I don’t know!’.  Both Isaac and Ava thought the best part of the story was when George had to go to the vet for an ….extraction.

This post has been submitted to the picture book challenge by There’s A Book. You can begin your challenge anytime until November 20, 2011! Prizes to be won and fun to be had, head on over and sign up!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

