Skip to content

:: a tail of two kitties ::

February 18, 2011

(title courtesy of Maggie)

Earlier this week I had, most likely, the most entertaining moment of my Goodsoil existence. Well, me and my cat had the experience.

A little before lunch I happened to look out one of our kitchen windows and notice a truck parked haphazardly in our driveway with the driver’s side door open. I assumed it was a visitor for Michael, so I called down to the basement that he had company. I waited a beat or two for the doorbell to ring, but the expectation was met with silence.

I started to walk towards the door to take a peak outside and see if we indeed did have someone. As I walked past our second kitchen window I saw the back of a person heading out my yard. Holding my cat.

I galloped toward the door, threw it open wide and called, “Can I help you?” She turned around, surprised to see me and asked, “Is this my cat or yours?” Hamilton was scratching at her shoulders in an attempt to get away. He jumped forward and bolted into the porch through my legs. He was a blur of fur.

Taking this all in I responded, “Um….I think he’s mine.”
“Oh. That must be why he didn’t want to come with me.”
“Yes. I suppose that could be why.”
“You know, I have a cat that looks identical to yours. Have you seen him?”
“No…..I’ll keep my eye out for him, though.”
“Okay.”
“Okay.”

Awkward silence……

My visitor turns around and heads back to her truck. I am trying desperately not to laugh out loud until the door closes. Once it does, I call Michael and recount the whole even to him. We both had a laugh and stated it was lucky that I happened to see him being taken out of the yard.

I had errands to run, so I left Violet with Michael and headed out of the house. I was gone for maybe half an hour and when I returned, Michael told me that I had had a visitor in my absence.

My cat lady had returned.
With her cat.
Apparently she had found him.
Michael said they really did look alike.

She said that she had to come back to show us her cat. So we could see how much resemblance there was. So that she could prove to me that she wasn’t crazy and that she wasn’t trying to steal my cat.

Which is good, because I think I know a little girl who might have missed him.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 3:01 pm

    I love that picture!

  2. May 8, 2011 4:21 am

    I am laughing so hard at that! In her place, I’d have come back, too. Glad this story had a happy ending for all involved.

    And of course, the photo is adorable.

Leave a Reply

