Skip to content

:: feelin’ festive ::

December 13, 2010

This Christmas season is a benchmark one for me.  I do NOT feel like a Grinch this year.  Yup, officially festive!  Granted, I still hate country Christmas carols, there’s a special place in Hell for blinking lights and I don’t do egg nog and ask me to sing a carol and I will deck your halls. But despite that I think I’ve got this Christmas thing down.

So much in fact, that I was literally begging Michael to finally get us our Christmas tree.  Last year I think we bought one for 25.00 two days before Christmas.  This year I had a stash (read 100’s) of little ornaments waiting to be strung on the branches.  I needed a tree, dammit.

We (Michael) tried our second year in Goodsoil to do the Christmas tree hunt the old fashioned way.  He bundled up Ava and took her out tromping through the backwoods to find a suitable candidate.  Ava (being four at the time) stopped every two steps to point out a tree.  The first was 15 feet tall – a smidge too large.  Her favourite contender was “the itty bitty baby tree” that came to a point between her knee and ankle.

When Michael finally got a tree home, it was the scraggliest, most Charlie-Brown Christmas tree I had ever seen.  However, I couldn’t tell him that (until now) as it took them nearly four hours to find it, chop it and bring it home.  We decorated it and watched as our shatterproof ornaments slowly slid down its spindly branches and bounced sorrowfully along the carpeted floor.

Next year, we said, would be different.  And it was, but by that point I didn’t feel much like decorating a tree that would only be up for a few days.  Christmas came and went with hardly a puff of enthusiasm from Michael or myself.

Today the kids and I spent three hours decorating the tree.  Yup.  Three.  Six strands of lights, 48 lime green ornaments, 30 turquoise, 40 silver, a couple of snowflakes, icicles and favourites and it was finished.

Isaac had a blast making faces at himself in the ornaments

This girl cannot sit still. Every picture I have of her is a blur.

There’s just something about a warm fire and a Christmas tree…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 4:19 am

    could michael’s big toe be any longer? holy crap. it’s like a finger.

    • Michael permalink
      December 15, 2010 2:56 am

      I’ve had pretty much enough of your guff! Large man = Large toe.

  2. December 13, 2010 2:25 pm

    You obviously didn’t notice my freaky longie toe.

  3. December 13, 2010 6:34 pm

    Your tree is BEAUTIFUL!!! Im not a huge Christmas fan either, but the tree is my favorite part!!

Leave a Reply

