Skip to content

:: recipe rut ::

November 30, 2010

I’m in a cooking funk.  Lately it’s been the same breakfasts (peanut butter toast and coffee), same lunches (Caesar salad), same suppers (I’m spaghettied out) and same cookies (chocolate chip, anyone?) for weeks now.

I’ve been slacking with menu plans and because of that we’ve been eating a lot of crappy foods.  The kids behaviours have been off and I’m finally motivated enough to do something about it.  I have set a goal for myself to get back on track with menu plans and to try at least one new (scary!) recipe a week and add one soup night to the menu in hopes that my kids will ever learn to like soup.

I’ll report back later with the hits and misses.  Menu plan is down below, name of the cookbook in parenthesis, new – to – us recipes are bolded.

Tuesday: pot roast with Quick Boiled Greens (Feeding the Whole Family) and Coconut Peanut Sauce for the greens (FWF).  There will also be corn on the cob for the kids.

Wednesday: spaghetti sauce (Once A Month Cooking) with Italian Flatbread and cucumber-dill salad

Thursday: Karen’s Sesame Noodles (FWF) with asian-style chicken and some veggie as yet to be determined.

Friday: Pizza night

Saturday: Chipotle Navy Bean Soup with Millet Croquettes (both from FWF)

Sunday: Prairie Roots Pie (Company’s Coming Stews, Chilies and Chowders)

Monday: Tacos

Wish me luck!

 

 

Take risks:  if you win, you will be happy; if you lose, you will be wise.

~Author Unknown

3 Comments leave one →
  1. nicole permalink
    December 2, 2010 1:37 am

    Meal planning.. something I’ve always thought about.. heh. I loveee soup night! That stuff sounds good. I wish you luck! And I love the quote on the bottom 🙂

  2. Ashlea permalink
    December 2, 2010 3:30 pm

    Wow, I’ve been the same way. We’d been doing so good on meal plans for about 6 months and then Kallen was born and all of my ‘oomph’ went out the window. Hopefully I’ll get it back soon. Good luck to you getting back into meal planning! 🙂

  3. Michael permalink
    December 6, 2010 2:47 am

    Kudos on the roots pie and navy bean soup! Mwah! Perfecto!

Leave a Reply

