Skip to content

:: cherry blossoms ::

November 19, 2010

Sometimes the universe just knows what you need to hear. Those little whispers that are easy to miss, messages that mean something once you have the opportunity to reflect upon them.

That’s how it’s been for me lately with cherry blossoms.

Cherry blossoms are a beautiful, delicate pink flower.  They are ripe with symbolism in both Chinese and Japanese cultures, the most prominent message being ‘the fleeting nature of life’.

Now, you could interpret that in a morbid sense, “We are all going to die! Ta-da! The End,” but I have chosen to embrace it as a bit of a pep talk.  These moments that drive me crazy, test my limits, frustrate and infuriate me are but fleeting.  This too shall pass.

These blossoms have been popping up the past few months since Violet has been born.  They first caught my eye when I impulsively purchased the Didymos wrap.  I didn’t think I would like it, but it turns out it is my favourite wrap!

Then (as embarrassing as this is to admit, but I’ll admit it here ’cause I know there’s no judging!) I took a quiz on Facebook (see!  No snickering!  I told you it was embarrassing!) to analyze what tattoo I am and I got Cherry Blossoms again.  My quiz results told me that I was passionate, powerful and needing to value the ebb and flow of life.

:: listen to these whispers, Jess.  Appreciate what is in front of you before the season changes and these fragile blossoms grow up and journey off in the wind. ::

 

Nobody trips over mountains.  It is the small pebble that causes you to stumble.  Pass all the pebbles in your path and you will find you have crossed the mountain.
~Author Unknown
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

