Skip to content

: remember to remember:

November 11, 2010

Rick Mercer always has pretty good rants.  Yesterday’s rant spoke to me, so I decided to share it with you. 🙂

 

It got me thinking…. what am I doing on Remembrance Day?  My plans had included necessities such as clean the house, do the laundry, and find some time to knit.  But as I listened to the rant and to the CBC radio program it was played on I started thinking about my grandpa, Wilbur Dovell,  a gunner in the Second World War.  He passed away 8 years ago. My husband hardly knew him, my children never did, and I’m having a bit of trouble remembering.

So, I think that’s what I’m going to do on Remembrance Day….remember my grandpa, and teach my children about a great man they never knew. In fact, I’ll learn quite a bit also.  Grandpa didn’t talk a lot to us about the war.  This has the beginnings of a tradition to it.  This year I do believe we’ll all learn about Lancasters and spend our afternoon making lap-books.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

