Skip to content

:: wip wednesday ::

October 28, 2010

So long since I’ve posted a few WIPs.  I figured it’s about time 😉

For 35.00 I purchased this gorgeous (but alas, felted) Indio from diaperswappers.  I originally thought I could carry with it, but I since learned (from fabulous TBW) that carrying a child in a felt wrap can be dangerous.  The felted wool ‘shrinks’ so that there is not as much diagonal stretch.  Rather than stretching, the material tears (quite easily I found out while working with it).  So PSA to my wrappers: check your wool wraps!

Soon-to-be stuffed elephant, one of two scarves with fringe, a Star-Seed Doll for Violet

From the 35 dollar wrap I was able to get two fair-sized scarves with a few inches of fringe on each end, a Star Child doll for Violet (which I know is mildly freaky looking without a face.  It’s worse when I have the pins tacked into its face to mark eyes and mouth, so I took them out :)) and I’m going to use Violet’s musical Elfie as a template for a stuffed elephant teething toy.

 

What are you making for Christmas?


“Crafts make us feel rooted,
give us a sense of belonging and connect us with our history.
Our ancestors used to create these crafts out of necessity,
and now we do them for fun,
to make money and to express ourselves.”
~ Phyllis George

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 3:54 am

    I have scraps leftover from my quilt so I’m thinking I’ll make something with that, but now this quilt has gotten me into sewing again so I’m thinking that I’ll make quilted placemats for my grandparents, and then I’m still working on the braided rag rug for my Mom. I am always highly ambitious to have a handmade Christmas every year, and every year end up buying most of my gifts!

Leave a Reply

