Skip to content

:: will I be pretty? ::

October 24, 2010

This contestant’s entry in a poetry slam was most likely the most powerful things I have seen and listened to all week.  I don’t want to ruin it for you, but it resonated with me on so many levels; as the teenager who only wanted to be ‘pretty’, the mother who has thought about ‘prettiness’ in her children, the woman who ‘doesn’t know how to wear fulfillment or joy’.

 

I’m still chewing on this in my mind.

 

Watch.  Reflect.  Share.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2010 6:17 pm

    I’m now in tears.

  2. Anna-Marie permalink
    October 24, 2010 7:56 pm

    Perfectly put!!!!!!

  3. October 25, 2010 10:16 pm

    the ending was amazing, the message is spot on. Now I know what to say when my 6.5 year old asks me ‘mama, am I pretty?’…

  4. October 27, 2010 6:50 pm

    That was AWESOME!

  5. Maggie permalink
    October 28, 2010 6:32 pm

    That was awesome. LOVE!

    Except “pretty” is 6 letters. But it doesn’t even matter because its that good.

    • October 28, 2010 7:36 pm

      lol. I didn’t even notice that ‘pretty’ was counted wrong, which is weird because I’m such a spelling nerd.

Leave a Reply

