Skip to content

:: but I want it ::

October 18, 2010

Oh, the phrase that accompanies the annual Sears Wish Book.  How many times have you heard it since it came out in August?  We’re bordering on the thousands mark in this household.  With every page there is a new ‘thing’, a new toy of the moment.  Whether it be a fifty dollar Optimus Prime costume, or the latest Calvin Klein fragrance (my seven year old insists I need it) or Christmas decorations for the house, they want it.

But I’m just as bad.

And I’m tired of it.

I admit that I have a problem with contentment.  That’s the whole reason that I started this blog, to try and love what I have.  Live in the moment.  Be satisfied. But it’s so darn hard!

Every time that I turn my gaze around my home I am overcome with wants.

I want my kitchen redone.

I want milk-paint for the cabinets.

I want that retro looking lamp.

I want hardwood instead of the laminate that came free with the house.

I want basketweave tile for the bathroom.

I want a floor to ceiling shower in the master bath.

I want a dresser for my clothes.

I want a dresser that works for Violet’s clothes.

I want the walk-in closet done.

I want an area rug for my bedroom.

I want some jeans that fit my post-pregnant body.

I want a one-cup coffee dispenser.

I want a Kobo E-reader.

I want a dog.

I want new sheets.  Mine are two years old.

I want.

I want.

I want.

No wonder my husband gets irritated with me. 😉 And no wonder I get irritated with myself.  As usual, the conflict within me will state in the same breath all of my newest wants and desires and then mention how irritated I am by all this stuff. It’s exhausting.  It’s mind-numbing, and it’s leaving me discontent.

A wise person once told me, “It’s not where you live, Jess, it’s who you live with.” Wow, insightful.

So onto my new goal, which I am happy to share with you and encourage you to play along if you so choose. Every time that I start hearing “I wants” in my head I have to  tell myself an “I have”.

I have a husband who loves and supports me and who puts up with my whimsy and neurosis ;).

I have three wonderful children who love me unconditionally and never harbour grudges against me (even though I may deserve a grudge held against me from time to time).

I have a huge home that I don’t need to fill to the gills with stuff.

I have clothes that fit me.

I have a vehicle that my husband searched far and wide for to meet my specific criteria.

I have a home filled with funny, creative, witty people.

I have a fridge full of food and a way to get more when I need it.

I have knitting needles, and i’m not afraid to use them!

I have close, wonderful friends.

have access to farm-fresh food.

I have generous extended family.

I have a room downstairs that will be all mine for sewing and crafting.

I have the ability to make something old new again.

I have fresh baked bread, and I can make more.

I have what I need.

“Earth provides enough to satisfy every man’s need, but not every man’s greed”
~Mahatma Gandhi
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    October 18, 2010 7:50 pm

    Floored. Absolutley floored.

Leave a Reply

