Skip to content

Apple Banana Multi-Grain Muffins

September 13, 2010

My kids love muffins, so I make them frequently  The best part about my kids devouring these muffins are the pureed fruits I manage to squeeze into them (tee-hee!).

Basically, I just started throwing random things together into a bowl and wrote down the ingredients as I came to them.  It was only after the muffins were baking that I looked at the sugar on my counter and realized “S##@!  I forgot the sugar!”  However, despite my omission, these muffins come out just sweet enough thanks to the fruit and the mini-chocolate chips. You could add some honey if you wanted them to be a little more sweet.  There’s also no oil used in the muffins, so they tend to stick to the cups more than usual.

Apple-Banana Multi Grain Muffins

1 Cup Applesauce

3 bananas

2 eggs

1/4 C quick-oats

1/4 C ground flaxseed

1/2 C white flour

1 C whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 C mini chips (use Enjoy Life! brand to make these muffins dairy free ;))

Combine applesauce, bananas and eggs into a puree.  Mix dry ingredients together and blend with wet.  Put into muffin tins and enjoy!

I was going to take a picture of the muffins to post, but I decided to post the little lady who put back five of these muffins after school (and a handful of rice crackers).  Apparently they were satisfactory.

"Moom! Hurry Up! Isaac's wrecking my things! I AM smiling!"

"There. Is this better?"

"Ava, did you manage to keep any of it off of your face?" "Yeah, some went on my pants."

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

