Skip to content

:: one year wiser ::

August 29, 2010

Maybe it’s just this time of year, but I find fall to be more rejuvenating than New Year’s Day.  There are a multitude of markers indicating change and renewal versus a ten second drop of a glittering ball.

The fresh, crispness of fall tells me that school is starting, which is in itself a renewal.  Every year we prepare, pack the lunches and the backpacks, write important events into our dayplanners and move on out.  But, as I am beginning to become aware of, most of the things we learn aren’t necessarily taught in school.

Now that I am “one year wiser” I wanted to reflect on some of the simple lessons that I have learned over the course of this year:

~ surprises  can happen even with the best intentions of them not happening 😉  And they      can be born breech.

~ life without satellite TV isn’t that bad, but life without the internet puts me in                      withdrawal.

~ not everything needs to be fixed.  Sometimes, it’s not even broken.

~ how a lava lamp works

~ I’m not always right (but don’t tell my husband).

~ to do a cable stitch (and must say that it is one of my favourite patterns to knit!)

~ if you keep calling, and calling, and calling, eventually you will get an appointment.

~ to hang wallpaper, paint a faux finish, and soon to learn floor tiling.

~ to :: inhale ::

~ instead of saying “No” right off the bat to question to myself, “Why not?”

~ to make bagels and tortillas! A major domestic accomplishment!

~ three year olds have the oddest sense of humour.

~ seven year olds are effective dinosaur callers.

~ one of the hardest things you do as a parent is watch your child be led away from you       for surgery; even if it’s just minor surgery.  The second hardest part is sitting and               waiting for three hours for her to come back.

~ the things I swore I would never do/say/wear as it would indicate my age are slowly          creeping up on me (example: I haven’t shaved my legs in weeks. *gasp!*)

~ not everything on the list needs to be done today.  In fact, not everything on the list            needs to be done.  These arbitrary restrictions I put on myself and my family are not the    be all and end all of our success.

~ a ‘quiet’ life does not necessarily imply complacency.

We turn not older with years, but newer every day. ~Emily Dickinson

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    September 1, 2010 7:56 pm

    Yay! My favorite part was the part about how you weren’t always right.

  2. Maggie permalink
    September 2, 2010 2:45 pm

    I just wanted to let you know I read your blog. 😉 You’re a great writer. And I agree with you, fall is more rejuvinating the New Years.

Leave a Reply

