Skip to content

:: “man-crafts” ::

February 17, 2011

Michael has been getting crafty around here.  Although he doesn’t like it when I say he’s being crafty.  He responds with, “Man-crafty, maybe.”  Hence the title.  Michael is ‘man-crafty’.

First, in his bout of (man) craftiness was to fashion these awesome bookshelves in the kids’ room.  I had been trying to get him to bend to my whim for weeks.  Conversation went something like this:

Me:  Oh, and if you’re going to Cold Lake please pick up some rain gutters.

Michael: Oh?

Me: Yes.

Michael: Why?

Me: You’ll see. (Because once we have the rain gutters, he’ll have to make my project because 1) I can’t read a tape measure 2) I don’t want to learn to read a tape measure 3) Michael can read a tape measure)

Michael: No.

Take 2:

Me: Oh, you’re going to Cold Lake today?  Can you pick up some rain gutters?

Michael: No.

Take 3:

Me: Oh, you’re going to Cold Lake today?  Could you pick up some rain gutters?

Michael: goddamit! Fine.  What do you even need them for?  Do we even have metal cutters?  What are you going to do so that you don’t have open metal by the kids?

Me:  Oh, I think it said somewhere that all  you need is a drill.  Here is the link, honey bunches schnookums. (And, as I am a powerful, confident woman I will admit my mistake in that you do, in fact need more than a drill.  However, Michael was SO WRONG that you needed metal gutters.  Yup. He was.)

So, my wonderful husband begrudgingly picked up my rain gutters to make my the kids’ bookshelves.  And they turned out wonderfully.  I even managed to capture the intricate details of installing them….

Here's the "I will smile for one picture" pose.

He's starting to develop an eye-twitch. You just can't see it in the picture. It must be stress-related.

I don't know why he would feel stressed. Look at all the helpers he has to split the workload with.

In the end, they were installed, used, lovingly arranged and favourite titles were displayed.  And Michael declared it good.

Then, as if that weren’t man-tastic enough, he went ahead and started building me a closet system.  I like to think it’s because he loves me.  I think mostly it’s because I asked him every day until he did it.  I also like to think that nagging = success!

It’s still getting some finishing touches.  We don’t know what’s going to go at the very top as Michael even customized the heights so my short little self wouldn’t have to reach on tippy – toes for any of my items.  (Awwww! )

We used Rubbermaid drawers on the left side of the closet because (shockingly) the walls in the closet weren’t straight, so built in drawers wouldn’t have worked. That’s what I’m told anyway.  Heck, I’m ecstatic I finally have drawers!

At the bottom of the right side is my shoe-rack.  I know this isn’t a very visually appealing image of my shoes. It’s financially appealing, though.  Of those three pair of shoes I think I paid less than 5.00 per pair.  Viva la second hand store!  And really, its the only store you can find that specific shade of orange-brown in a shoe.  It’s a beautiful thing.

But you know what’s even  more beautiful?

…….do you?

 

The shoe rack slides out!  Oh yes it does!  Hello Ikea ingenuity!

And do you see all those empty shoe spaces?  Yup – I need more shoes!

You know what else slides out?

My specialty-pants hanger! And because I’m smarter than the average bear, I’ve put two pair of pants on each hanger because they’re so huge, so I can buy more pants and fit them in my spanky new closet!

And then I’ve got this super compartmentalized jewellery drawer.

Oh yes.  I’m a lucky lady.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Maggie permalink
    February 17, 2011 6:53 pm

    OK. So we’re moving upstairs and there are his and her closets. And I think I DEFINATELY need a system like this. Why didn’t I evern think of it? THANKS FOR THE IDEASSSS!!!!

    Your closet is HAWT.

  2. Mike permalink
    February 17, 2011 7:17 pm

    Nagging = Success

    Math was never a super strong suit for you (says the man who hates reading). More like …

    *Ice Fishing + *Ice Fishing = Success

    * Note that ice fishing can be replaced with hunting, regular fishing, or paintballing for continued success.

  3. Cher permalink
    February 17, 2011 7:21 pm

    Yes your closet is brilliant! My favorite part is the jewlery drawer! May have to place a little order to IKEA to do the bottom part of our closet! How come you didn’t post a final pic of the rain gutter book shelves? I want to see them!! Go Michael!

    • February 17, 2011 7:51 pm

      I completely blanked on the final picture, didn’t I? I’ll have to clean the kids’ room and then take one ;) I’ll be sure to post!

      • February 20, 2011 3:01 pm

        That’s what I want to see too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

